Museum of Power - About Us

Museum of  Power - Logo

Keeping History Alive

The Museum, a unique and fascinating experience for all the family, is located at Langford, near Maldon, Essex and is easily accessible from the A12 (see ‘Visiting’).

Set in seven acres of grounds with the River Blackwater running through, the main exhibits are housed in the 1920s Steam Pumping Station, the former generator hall and boiler house.

Pride of place is given to the magnificent Lilleshall triple-expansion steam engine which was returned to steam for the first time in 50 years in April 2011. As a result in September 2013 the Museum was awarded “Engineering Heritage Listed Status” by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. The certificate was awarded by John Wood (Chairman of the Awards Committee) who remarked the the award recognises the contribution that the staff and volunteers have made in preserving part of Britain’s heritage for future generations to enjoy.

The Museum includes numerous power-related exhibits that will interest young and the not so young, with many working examples of various power sources, machinery, equipment and tools.

In addition, in the former workshop, the Steam Pump Tea Rooms (opened in April 2011) offer an extensive selection of refreshments and treats for every age where visitors can relax.

Outside in the grounds more attractions can be found including a model village, picnic area and the ever-popular miniature railway.

The Directors, staff and volunteers look forward to welcoming you to the Museum of Power soon.

Museum Staff and Volunteers

Museum Staff and Volunteers

Museum Trustees


John Lowe

Honorary President

Roger Griffin

Chairman & Learning

Mark Gallagher

Trustee & Railway Team

Stephen Capper

Trustee & Governance

Graham Wood

Exhibitions & Records

Mark Weale

Vice Chairman & Health and Safety

Dick Waylen

Trustee for Finance & Railway Manager

Museum Officers


Pat Breeze


Museum Staff


Debbie Thomas

Museum Manager

James Gulleford

Museum Assistant Manager

Sam White

Tea Room Manager



Museum Volunteer Support Group


Frank Andow

Museum Membership Secretary

Ron Faux

Maintenance & Projects Manager

Brian Honeysett

Lilleshall Team Manager

Terry Bradley

Temporary Exhibitions Team

Alan Walker

'Astaria' Model Village Manager

Terry Soame

Secretary to the Board

Ruby Goodland

Museum Shop & Camping Manager

Twitter Feed


Sponsors and Acceditation



Accredited MuseumMuseum of Power, Hatfield Road, Langford, Maldon, Essex CM9 6QA
Tel: +44 (0) 1621 843183 | Charity No. 1087459 | Privacy & Cookies |

© Copyright Museum of Power. All Rights Reserved. King Web Development Web Development